Free shipping in Germany from order value 39€

UGANDA

Pearls of Africa Uganda

ABOUT UGANDA AND THE LATER HISTORY OF THE COUNTRY

Winston Churchill is often quoted. The ministerial official, the tourism manager, the tour guide. When Churchill came to the British protectorate of Uganda at the turn of the century, he called the East African country the "Pearl of Africa". Forty different peoples inhabit a fertile land, almost the size of the old Federal Republic - a country in which one sixth the area of water and Swamps is covered.

"Uganda is too good to be true."

Winston Churchill 

Churchill said something else about Uganda: a sentence that hardly anyone quotes, and yet today it seems like a self-fulfilling prophecy: “Uganda is too good to be true. Behind the shimmering exterior hides something ominous ... a hint of indescribable oppression, like a wound that does not heal, like a festering scratch. "According to the young journalist, who later became world famous, the country is" like a garden full of sunshine and deadly nightshade ". Uganda gained independence from the United Kingdom in 1962.

Uganda lies on Lake Victoria. It borders South Sudan to the north, Kenya to the east, Tanzania and Rwanda to the south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.

Tier Uganda Pearls of Africa Uganda Pearls of Africa Menschen Uganda Pearls of Africa Hütte Uganda Pearls of Africa

THE WOUNDS OF DICTATURES

In the period from 1966 to 1986 under the governments of Milton Obote and Idi Amin, the country was characterized by an authoritarian style of government, violence, serious human rights violations, civil war-like conditions and economic decline.

Since 1986 the country has been ruled by Yoweri Kaguta Museveni. In 1986 the Lord's Resistance Army, led by Joseph Kony, began its resistance movement, during which time people were tortured, villages burned and children and young people kidnapped.

The aim of this movement was to remove the president and to establish a Christian regime in Uganda based on the Ten Commandments of the Bible. Within two decades, the LRA recruited around 66,000 children and young people as soldiers, slaves and "wives" for their "army".

In 1996 around 1.8 million people had to move to refugee camps (Camps for Internally Displaced Persons) at the instigation of the Ugandan government, where they were promised protection but where they were dependent on humanitarian aid. Ten years later the situation in the camps deteriorated dramatically and they were characterized by illness, malnutrition and terrible hygienic conditions.

UGANDA TODAY  

In recent years is the majority of internally displaced persons returned to the villages but with limited schooling, work, land disputes and with little hope of a normal life. There is some calming and economic recovery. The south of the country is now again popular with tourists, and no attacks on foreigners have been reported in the northern border provinces since 1999.

For several years there have been major international economic interests in the country's raw materials. But also within the country, small start-ups, craft businesses and small groups are emerging that implement ideas in order to earn a living. The members of the Emmanuel Group are one such example. The women and men are coming predominantly from the north of the country and have teamed up in Kampala to use their manual skills.

And we can make a small contribution to more justice and a sustainable, peaceful future for people. As an appreciative buyer of your products, we give you the opportunity to build an economic existence and for yours Familys to care. And support the establishment of value chains on site, which grow over time and piece by piece. Perhaps the continued support will one day help the group members return to their villages in northern Uganda.

A JOURNEY THROUGH UGANDA

​ ​
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Fluss
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Safari Boot
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda LKW
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Tanzende Kinder
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Tanzende Frau
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Kinder in Hütte
Pearls of Africa Uganda Nil
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Affe auf Auto
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Marktplatz
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Landschaft
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Gorilla
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Menschen am Arbeiten
Pearls of Africa Uganda Safari Elephant
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Zebras
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Familie
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Markt
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Tanz
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda

Have you got the travel bug?

If you now feel like going on a "wild safari" where you can experience the Big 5 up close, want to feel the goose bumps on your skin with African dances by the campfire, or want to take a wild ride on a Bodaboda, then take a look times with our partner Caribou safaris purely. If you don't get the travel bug !!!

English en

Kostenloser Versand in Deutschland ab 39€

UGANDA

Pearls of Africa Uganda

ÜBER UGANDA UND DIE JÜNGERE GESCHICHTE DES LANDES

Winston Churchill wird gerne zitiert. Der Ministerialbeamte, der Tourismusmanager, der Reiseführer. Als Churchill um die Jahrhundertwende ins britische Protektorat Uganda kam, nannte er das ostafrikanische Land die „Perle Afrikas". Vierzig verschiedene Völker bewohnen ein fruchtbares Land, fast so groß wie die alte Bundesrepublik – ein Land, in dem ein Sechstel der Fläche von Wasser und Sümpfen bedeckt ist.

„Uganda ist zu schön, um wahr zu sein."

Winston Churchill 

Churchill hat aber noch etwas anderes über Uganda gesagt: einen Satz, den kaum jemand zitiert, und doch wirkt er heute wie eine self-fulfilling prophecy: „Uganda ist zu schön, um wahr zu sein. Hinter dem schimmernden Äußeren verbirgt sich etwas Unheilvolles... eine Ahnung unbeschreiblicher Unterdrückung, wie eine Wunde, die nicht heilt, wie eine eiternde Schramme." Das Land sei, so der junge Journalist, der später zu Weltruhm gelangen sollte, „wie ein Garten voll Sonnenschein und tödlichen Nachtschattens". Uganda wurde 1962 vom Vereinigten Königreich unabhängig.

Uganda liegt am Viktoriasee. Im Norden grenzt es an den Südsudan, östlich grenzt es an Kenia, südlich an Tansania und Ruanda, westlich ist die Demokratische Republik Kongo.

Tier Uganda Pearls of Africa Uganda Pearls of Africa Menschen Uganda Pearls of Africa Hütte Uganda Pearls of Africa

DIE WUNDEN DER DIKTATUREN

In der Zeit von 1966 bis 1986 unter den Regierungen von Milton Obote und Idi Amin war das Land geprägt von einem autoritären Regierungsstil, Gewalttätigkeiten, schwersten Menschenrechtsverletzungen, bürgerkriegsartigen Zuständen und einem wirtschaftlichen Niedergang.

Seit 1986 wird das Land von Yoweri Kaguta Museveni regiert. 1986 begann die Lord's Resistance Army unter der Führung von Joseph Kony ihre Widerstandsbewegung, in dessen Zeit Menschen gefoltert, Dörfer verbrannt und Kinder und Jugendliche entführt wurden.

Das Ziel dieser Bewegung war es, den Präsidenten abzusetzen und ein auf den Zehn Geboten der Bibel begründetes, christliches Regime in Uganda zu etablieren. Innerhalb zweier Jahrzehnte rekrutierte die LRA ungefähr 66.000 Kinder und Jugendliche als Soldaten, Sklaven und "Ehefrauen" für ihre "Armee".

1996 mussten ca. 1,8 Millionen Menschen auf Veranlassung der ugandischen Regierung in Flüchtlingslager (Camps for Internally Displaced Persons) ziehen, wo ihnen Schutz versprochen wurde und wo sie jedoch von humanitärer Hilfe abhängig waren. Zehn Jahre später verschlechterte sich die Situation in den Camps dramatisch und sie waren gekennzeichnet von Krankheit, Fehlernährung und furchtbaren hygienischen Bedingungen.

UGANDA HEUTE  

In den letzten Jahren ist der Großteil der Binnenflüchtlinge wieder in die Dörfer zurückgekehrt, jedoch mit begrenzter Schulbildung, Arbeit, Landstreitigkeiten und mit wenig Hoffnung auf ein normales Leben. Es setzt eine gewisse Beruhigung und wirtschaftliche Erholung ein. Der Süden des Landes wird inzwischen wieder gern von Touristen besucht, in den nördlichen Grenzprovinzen ist seit 1999 von keinen Übergriffen auf Ausländer mehr berichtet worden.

Seit einigen Jahren gibt es große internationale wirtschaftliche Interessen an den Rohstoffen des Landes. Aber auch innerhalb des Landes entstehen kleine Start Ups, Handwerksbetriebe und kleine Gruppen, die Ideen umsetzen, um sich ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen. Die Mitglieder der Emmanuel Group sind ein solches Beispiel. Die Frauen und Männer kommen vorwiegend aus dem Norden des Landes und haben sich in Kampala zusammengetan, um ihre handwerklichen Fähigkeiten einzusetzen.

Und wir können einen kleinen Beitrag zu mehr Gerechtigkeit und für eine nachhaltige, friedliche Zukunft der Menschen leisten. Als wertschätzende Abnehmer Ihrer Produkte geben wir Ihnen die Möglichkeit, sich eine wirtschaftliche Existenz aufzubauen und für ihre Familien zu sorgen. Und unterstützen den Aufbau von Wertschöpfungsketten vor Ort, die über die Zeit und Stück für Stück wachsen. Vielleicht hilft die kontinuierliche Unterstützung den Gruppenmitglieder eines Tages, in ihre Dörfer im Norden Ugandas zurückzukehren.

EINE REISE DURCH UGANDA

​ ​
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Fluss
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Safari Boot
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda LKW
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Tanzende Kinder
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Tanzende Frau
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Kinder in Hütte
Pearls of Africa Uganda Nil
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Affe auf Auto
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Marktplatz
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Landschaft
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Gorilla
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Menschen am Arbeiten
Pearls of Africa Uganda Safari Elephant
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Zebras
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Familie
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Markt
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda Tanz
Pearls of Africa Impressionen Uganda

HAT DICH DAS REISEFIEBER GEPACKT?

Wenn du jetzt auch Lust verspürst auf "wilde Safari" zu gehen, bei der du die Big 5 hautnah erleben kannst, bei afrikanischen Tänzen am Lagerfeuer die Gänsehaut auf deiner Haut spüren willst, oder einen wilden Ritt auf einem Bodaboda unternehmen möchtest, dann schau doch mal bei unserem Partner Karibu Safaris rein. Wenn dich dann nicht das Reisefieber packt!!!

Deutsch de