Free shipping in Germany from order value 39€

FAQs

In our FAQs you will find information about our products, the craftsmen, about us and our sustainability aspect.

1. How and when was PEARLS OF AFRICA founded?

Ursula Brosch founded the jewelry label PEARLS OF AFRICA in 2012 in Idstein im Taunus near Frankfurt am Main.

2. What is PEARLS OF AFRICA? 

PEARLS OF AFRICA means jewelery, decorations and accessories made from recycled material.

3. Who makes PEARLS OF AFRICA products?

Most of the products are manufactured by the "Emmanuel Group" in Uganda. There are around 60 Ugandan refugee women and some men who fled northern Uganda to find work in Kampala. The women's group founded itself in 2006 and works autonomously. The glass bead jewelry is made by a market woman and her brother in Uganda. Few unique pieces are produced by a craftswoman in Germany. 

4. Which materials are used for production?

The main material is recycled paper or waste paper that comes from local printing plants in Kampala. Other materials are lacquer, glue, nylon tape, artificial pearls as well as fasteners and earring hooks, all of which can also be bought on site in Kampala.

5. How are the products made?

All PEARLS OF AFRICA products are handmade. Whether in Uganda or Germany, each product is unique and is made by hand without the use of electronic machines. The paper is cut into triangles or strips with a cutting board, rolled over a stick, sealed with transparent glue and varnish and, in the case of jewelry, pulled onto the nylon ribbon.

6. When are the products made?

The products are manufactured according to the order situation. As soon as we have placed an order, usually in the amount of around 10,000 pieces, the producers set off to get the material for the order. With this order volume, the women work on an order for approx. 3-4 months, from Monday to Friday approx. 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Our primary goal is full-time employment through regular assignments.

7. Where are the products made?

Most of the paper products are made in a house specially rented by us for production in Kireka, a suburb of Kampala in Uganda. The glass bead jewelry is made in Kampala, Uganda and individual products are made in Germany. Some of the products are also created in the craftsmen's own four walls. The women decide on the production schedule.

8. How does the financing with the craftsmen work?

When the order is placed, the producers already receive 40% of the wages to buy the material for production and to start production. You will receive the remaining amount after receiving and checking the goods in Germany.

9. Are the products painted with paint?

No. The colors and gradients of the products are created solely by the paper used. The products are only coated with a transparent lacquer.

10. Are the products waterproof?

Yes. All of our products can come into contact with water such as rain. In the case of the pieces of paper, the lacquer protects the paper. We recommend a damp cloth to wipe the bowls and plates.

11. How do the products get from Uganda to Germany?

Our products are shipped via international transport. From the production facility in Kampala, they are transported by truck to the airport in Entebbe, Uganda. From there it goes by plane to Hamburg. In Hamburg the goods have to go through customs and are then brought to our warehouse in Scharbeutz by truck. 

12. Why are we sustainable?

We are sustainable because we follow the idea of fair trade. The cooperation with the producer group is based on trusting, independent and independent cooperation. The working conditions are fair, the producer group receives 25% more salary than in the local trade. The products are made from recycled material, which is obtained on site and thus promotes the local market and businesses. We are a member of the Weltladen umbrella organization and alliance Eine Welt Schleswig Holstein. 99% of PEARLS OF AFRICA employees work on a voluntary basis.

13. Shipping and payment conditions

You don't like the product you ordered? Would you prefer a different color? How does the reverse transaction work? You can find all questions on this topic under ours Shipping and payment terms in the footer. 

 

Your question is not answered? Then be sure to send them to us via our Contact form. 

English en

Kostenloser Versand in Deutschland ab 39€

FAQs

In unseren FAQs erhälst du Informationen zu unseren Produkten, den HandwerkerInnen, zu uns und unserem Nachhaltigkeitsaspekt.

1. Wie und wann wurde PEARLS OF AFRICA gegründet?

Ursula Brosch hat das Schmucklabel PEARLS OF AFRICA 2012 in Idstein im Taunus nahe Frankfurt am Main gegründet.

2. Was ist PEARLS OF AFRICA? 

Unter PEARLS OF AFRICA ist Schmuck, Dekoration und Accessoires aus recycelten Material zu verstehen.

3. Wer stellt die Produkte von PEARLS OF AFRICA her?

Der Großteil der Produkte wird von der Produzentengruppe "Emmanuel Group" in Uganda hergestellt. Das sind ca. 60 ugandische Flüchtlingsfrauen und einige Männer, die aus dem Norden Ugandas geflohen sind, um in Kampala Arbeit zu finden. Die Frauengruppe hat sich 2006 selbst gegründet und arbeitet autonom. Der Glasperlenschmuck wird von einer Marktfrau und ihrem Bruder in Uganda hergestellt. Wenige Einzelstücke werden von einer Handwerkerin in Deutschland produziert. 

4. Welche Materialien werden zur Produktion bezogen?

Das Hauptmaterial ist Recyclingpapier bzw. Altpapier, dass aus lokalen Druckereien in Kampala stammt. Weitere Materialien sind Lack, Kleber, Nylonband, Kunstperlen sowie Verschlüsse und Ohrringhaken welche allesamt ebenfalls in Kampala vor Ort gekauft werden.

5. Wie entstehen die Produkte?

Alle Produkte von PEARLS OF AFRICA sind handgemacht. Ob in Uganda oder Deutschland, jedes Produkt ist ein Einzelstück und wird per Hand ohne den Einsatz von elektronischen Maschinen hergestellt. Dabei werden das Papier mit einem Schneidebrett in Dreiecke oder Streifen geschnitten, über ein Stäbchen gerollt, mit transparentem Kleber und Lack versiegelt und im Falle des Schmucks auf das Nylonband gezogen.

6. Wann entstehen die Produkte?

Die Produkte werden nach Auftragslage hergestellt. Sobald wir eine Bestellung, i.d.R. in Höhe von ca. 10.000 Stück, in Auftrag gegeben haben, setzen die ProduzentInnen sich in Bewegung, um das Material für die Bestellung zu besorgen. In dieser Auftragshöhe arbeiten die Frauen ca. 3-4 Monate an einer Bestellung, von Montag bis Freitag ca. 9:00 - 16:00 Uhr. Unser Ziel ist in erster Linie eine Vollzeitbeschäftigung durch regelmäßige Aufträge.

7. Wo entstehen die Produkte?

Die Papierprodukte entstehen größtenteils in einem eigens von uns zur Produktion angemieteten Haus in Kireka, einem Vorort von Kampala in Uganda. Der Glasperlenschmuck entsteht in Kampala, Uganda und einzelne Produkte werden in Deutschland hergestellt. Zum Teil entstehen die Produkte ebenfalls in den eigenen vier Wänden der Handwerkerinnen. Dabei entscheiden die Frauen über den Zeitplan der Produktion.

8. Wie funktioniert die Finanzierung mit den HandwerkInnen?

Die Produzentinnen erhalten zum Zeitpunkt der Eingangsbestellung bereits 40 % des Arbeitslohnes, um das Material zur Herstellung einzukaufen und mit der Herstellung zu beginnen. Den restlichen Betrag erhalten sie nach Erhalt und Prüfung der Ware in Deutschland.

9. Sind die Produkte mit Farbe angemalt?

Nein. Die Farben und Farbverläufe der Produkte entstehen einzig und allein durch das verwendete Papier. Die Produkte sind lediglich mit einem transparenten Lack überzogen.

10. Sind die Produkte wasserfest?

Ja. Alle unsere Produkte können in Kontakt mit Wasser wie bspw. Regen kommen. Im Falle der Papierstücke schützt der Lack das Papier. Für die Schalen und Teller empfehlen wir einen feuchten Lappen zum abwischen.

11. Wie kommen die Produkte von Uganda nach Deutschland?

Unsere Produkte werden über den internationalen Transport versendet. Von der Produktionsstätte in Kampala werden sie mit einem LKW zum Flughafen nach Entebbe, Uganda gebracht. Von dort aus geht es mit dem Flugzeug nach Hamburg. In Hamburg muss die Ware durch den Zoll und wird anschließend mit einem LKW zu uns ins Lager nach Scharbeutz gebracht. 

12. Warum sind wir nachhaltig?

Wir sind nachhaltig, weil wir den Gedanken des Fairen Handel(n)s verfolgen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit der Produzentengruppe basiert auf vertrauensvoller, selbständiger und eigenständiger Zusammenarbeit. Die Arbeitsbedingungen sind fair, die Produzentengruppe erhält 25 % mehr Gehalt als im lokalen Gewerbe. Die Produkte sind aus recyceltem Material, welche vor Ort bezogen werden und damit den lokalen Markt und Gewerbetreibende fördert. Wir sind Mitglied des Weltladen Dachverband und Bündnis Eine Welt Schleswig Holstein. 99 % der Mitarbeiter von PEARLS OF AFRICA arbeiten ehrenamtlich.

13. Versand- und Zahlungsbedingungen

Dein bestelltes Produkt gefällt dir doch nicht? Du möchtest doch lieber eine andere Farbe? Wie funktioniert das mit der Rückabwicklung? Alle Fragen zu diesem Thema findest du unter unseren Versand- und Zahlungsbedingungen in der Fußzeile. 

 

Deine Frage wird nicht beantwortet? Dann schick sie uns unbedingt über unser Kontaktformular. 

Deutsch de