Free shipping in Germany from order value 39€

ABOUT US

Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa Profil Über uns

BEAUTIFUL, FAIR AND COLORFUL - MADE WITH HEART AND PASSION

These are the pieces of jewelry from PEARLS OF AFRICA. We, that is a family of 5, took the risk in 2012 and founded PEARLS OF AFRICA. The pearls are original handicrafts such as necklaces, bracelets, earrings or bowls and plates, made entirely from recycled paper or glass.

The special thing about it is that each piece is unique from Africa. Because almost every part is lovingly handcrafted by one of the up to 60 refugee women in Kireka, a suburb of Kampala in Uganda. The material is obtained from the producers in local shops, the production and processing takes place independently.

Thus our goal of promoting and guaranteeing the own business activities of the local people is preserved. At the same time, our customers enjoy the handmade one-offs. And last but not least, we are actively involved in fair trade. We have been a recognized supplier to the Weltladen umbrella association since 2018 and cooperate with the Alliance Eine Welt Schleswig Holstein and GEPA Süd-Nord-Kontor.

OUR CRITERIA AT A GLANCE

~ Fair conditions (fair wages, rental house for production, no child labor)

~ Recycled material

~ Handcraft

~ Furnished fund

~ Annual bonus payment

~ Preservation of traditional handicrafts in Uganda

~ Promotion of the own business activities of our producer group

~ Active participation in fair trade:

Weltladen Dachverband Pearls of Africa            Bündnis Eine Welt Pearls of Africa             GEPA Süd Nord Kontor Pearls of Africa

WHY DO WE DO WHAT WE DO? 

First: The deed! 

Second: the word! 

Third: the prayer!

We at Pearls of Africa want to show our neighborly love through action - by treating them as we would like to be treated ourselves, by enabling our African siblings to help themselves, by making our prayer a blessing for everyone involved in the project.

We got to know the Emmanuel Group and wanted to work with you. We want to bring the beautiful handicrafts to Germany and beyond. We want to encourage women in their work and independence and that they have enough to live on for themselves and their families. We don't want women to have to work in the quarry. We want women's children to be able to go to school and have enough to eat. There are many reasons that make us do what we do. 

We also love Africa, the people and the culture. We have lived in Africa for many years and feel at home in the African mud, fog, smells and sounds. 

WHO ARE WE? THE TEAM OF 5 

Pearls of Africa Familie Brosch

       From the left

Steffi - The middleman

At Steffi's, the baby rattles are ringing more often than the phone. As the proud mother of three children, Steffi is good and sporty with the 3-person team. On site she is "on the go & connected" for our project, especially with the hardworking manufacturers of our pearls. Steffi ensures that the cooperative in Uganda and the head office in Scharbeutz on the Baltic Sea run smoothly and communicate. After 7 years of NGO work and Stay in Uganda, Steffi currently lives in Sudan with her husband and three children.

Maria - The networker

Does your phone ring or have you received a mail from PEARLS OF AFRICA? Then Maria has already cast a spell over you on our project. Because her completely convinced vision of our mission will also move you to act, to work with us! "To volunteer at Pearls of Africa means to be able to give back a part."

Ursula - The spark of ideas

Ursula had the brilliant idea for this great project. Growing up in Australia and spent many years in Africa, her love and passion for this breathtaking and mysterious continent never went out - just like the love for people. Today she is the center of power and holds all the strings in her hand, but especially she keeps the whole "Pearls of Africa" team on their toes with her ideas! 

Dieter - The financial guru

The fact that the numbers make sense in the end and always spit out positive amounts is part of Dieter's calculation. He sits next to the idea generator and ensures law and order on paper and in Excel. His calling for numbers and faith make him the ideal finance director for our project. Dieter recently became a happier pensioner after having worked for an international technology company for decades.

Anna - The creative one

Whether via Facebook, Instagram, our website or our newsletter - so that you are always up-to-date, Anna brings her creative marketing cells to a boil and regularly supplies you with bittersweet news about our project, our dates and models. Anna grew up with the family in Africa and works in marketing. She loves good coffee and traveling.  

Pearls of Africa Stephanie Beltramini Pearls of Africa Maria Brosch Pearls of Africa Ursula Brosch Pearls of Africa Dieter Brosch Pearls of Africa Anna Brosch

THE PRODUCERS

The women of the Emmanuel Group got together in Kampala in 2006 to earn a living together. It is mainly women from northern Uganda who had to flee due to the rebel fighting. Many of you have lost loved ones and property.

The women live in the Acholi Quarter, a unit in Kampala's Kireka slum. The Acholi are an ethnic group in northern Uganda.

Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa Uganda

THE MANUFACTURING PROCESS

In order to produce the jewelry pearls and decorative pieces, paper is cut from magazines in the correct format with cutting boards, then rolled and finally coated with skin-friendly varnish. 

Everything by hand! The pearls are neither colored nor painted and only get their color from the recycled paper.

The paper is either discarded recycled paper from a local print shop in Kampala or leftover paper from old calendars or advertisements, for example.

 

Frau Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa   Frau Emmanuel Group Pearls of AfricaFrau Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa   Frau Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa

 

English en

Kostenloser Versand in Deutschland ab 39€

ÜBER UNS

Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa Profil Über uns

SCHÖN, FAIR UND BUNT – MIT HERZ UND LEIDENSCHAFT GEMACHT

Das sind die Schmuckstücke von PEARLS OF AFRICA. Wir, das ist eine 5-köpfige Familie, haben 2012 den Schritt gewagt und PEARLS OF AFRICA gegründet. Die Pearls sind originale Handarbeiten wie Ketten, Armbänder, Ohrringe oder auch Schalen und Teller, ganz aus recyceltem Papier oder Glas.

Das Besondere ist, jedes Stück ist ein afrikanisches Unikat. Denn nahezu jedes Teil wird in liebevoller Handarbeit von einer der bis zu 60 Flüchtlingsfrauen in Kireka, einem Vorort von Kampala in Uganda hergestellt. Das Material wird von den Produzentinnen aus lokalen Geschäften vor Ort bezogen, die Herstellung und Abwicklung findet selbstständig statt.

Somit ist unser Ziel bewahrt, die eigene Geschäftstätigkeit der Menschen vor Ort zu fördern und zu gewährleisten. Gleichzeitig erfreuen sich unsere Kunden an den handgemachten Einzelstücken. Und zu guter Letzt, wirken wir aktiv im Fairen Handel mit. Seit 2018 sind wir anerkannter Lieferant des Weltladen Dachverbandes, kooperieren mit dem Bündnis Eine Welt Schleswig Holstein und GEPA Süd-Nord-Kontor.

UNSERE KRITERIEN AUF EINEN BLICK

~ Faire Bedingungen (fairer Arbeitslohn, Mietshaus zur Produktion, keine Kinderarbeit)

~ Recyceltes Material

~ Handarbeit

~ Eingerichteter Fond

~ Jährliche Bonuszahlung

~ Bewahrung des traditionellen Handwerks in Uganda

~ Förderung der eigenen Geschäftstätigkeit unserer Produzentengruppe

~ Aktive Mitwirkung am Fairen Handel:

Weltladen Dachverband Pearls of Africa            Bündnis Eine Welt Pearls of Africa             GEPA Süd Nord Kontor Pearls of Africa

WARUM TUN WIR, WAS WIR TUN? 

Erstens: Die Tat! 

Zweitens: Das Wort! 

Drittens: Das Gebet!

Wir von Pearls of Africa wollen dem Anderen durch die Tat unsere Nächstenliebe erweisen – indem wir ihn so behandeln, wie wir selber behandelt werden möchten, indem wir unseren afrikanischen Geschwistern Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe ermöglichen, indem unser Gebet ein Segen für alle Beteiligten am Projekt wird.

Wir haben die Emmanuel Group kennengelernt und wollten mit Ihnen zusammenarbeiten. Wir wollen das wunderschöne Kunsthandwerk nach Deutschland und darüber hinaus bringen. Wir wollen die Frauen in Ihrer Arbeit und Selbständigkeit bestärken und dass sie genug zum Leben haben für sich und ihre Familien. Wir wollen nicht, dass die Frauen im Steinbruch arbeiten müssen. Wir wollen, dass die Kinder der Frauen in die Schule gehen können und genug zu Essen haben. Es sind viele Gründe, die uns dazu veranlassen, das zu tun, was wir tun. 

Außerdem lieben wir Afrika, die Menschen und die Kultur. Wir haben viele Jahre in Afrika gelebt und fühlen uns im afrikanischen Schlamm, Nebel, den Gerüchen und Klängen Zuhause. 

WER SIND WIR? DAS 5-KÖPFIGE TEAM 

Pearls of Africa Familie Brosch

       Von Links

Steffi – Die Mittelsfrau

Bei Steffi klingeln zurzeit öfters die Babyrasseln als das Telefon. Als stolze Mutter von drei Kindern ist Steffi mit dem 3er Gespann gut und sportlich unterwegs. Vor Ort „unterwegs & verknüpft" ist sie für unser Projekt vor allem mit den fleißigen Herstellerinnen unserer Perlen. Steffi sorgt für einen reibungslosen Ablauf und Kommunikation zwischen der Kooperative in Uganda und der Zentrale in Scharbeutz an der Ostsee. Nach 7 Jahren NGO-Arbeit und Aufenthalt in Uganda, lebt Steffi aktuell im Sudan mit ihrem Mann und ihren drei Kindern.

Maria – Die Netzwerkerin

Klingelt bei Dir das Telefon oder hast Du Post von PEARLS OF AFRICA erhalten? Dann hat Maria Dich schon jetzt in den Bann von unserem Projekt gezogen. Denn ihre vollends überzeugte Vision unserer Mission wird Dich ebenfalls zum Handeln bewegen, mit uns zusammen zu arbeiten! „Bei Pearls of Africa ehrenamtlich mitzuwirken, heißt, einen Teil zurückgeben zu können."

Ursula – Die Ideenzünderin

Die zündende Idee zu diesem großartigen Projekt hatte Ursula. Aufgewachsen in Australien und viele Jahre in Afrika verbracht, erlosch in ihr nie die Liebe und Leidenschaft zu diesem atemberaubenden und geheimnisvollen Kontinent – genauso wie die Liebe zu den Menschen. Heute ist sie die Machtzentrale und hält alle Fäden in der Hand, ganz besonders aber hält sie das ganze "Pearls of Africa"-Team mit ihren Ideen auf Trab! 

Dieter – Der Finanzguru

Dass die Zahlen am Ende einen Sinn ergeben und immerzu positive Beträge ausspucken, liegt in der Kalkulation von Dieter. Er sitzt neben der Ideengeberin und sorgt für Recht und Ordnung auf dem Papier und in Excel. Seine Berufung für die Zahlen und den Glauben machen ihn zum idealen Finanzdirektor für unser Projekt. Dieter ist seit kurzem glücklicher Rentner, nachdem er Jahrzehntelang für einen internationalen Technologiekonzern gearbeitet hat.

Anna – Die Kreative

Ob über Facebook, Instagram, unsere Website oder unseren Newsletter – damit Ihr immer Up-To-Date seid, bringt Anna ihre kreativen Marketingzellen zum Kochen und beliefert Euch regelmäßig mit bittersüßen News zu unserem Projekt, unseren Terminen und Modellen. Anna ist mit der Familie in Afrika aufgewachsen und arbeitet im Marketing. Sie liebt guten Kaffee und Reisen.  

Pearls of Africa Stephanie Beltramini Pearls of Africa Maria Brosch Pearls of Africa Ursula Brosch Pearls of Africa Dieter Brosch Pearls of Africa Anna Brosch

DIE PRODUZENTINNEN

Die Frauen der Emmanuel Group haben sich im Jahr 2006 in Kampala zusammengefunden, um gemeinsam ihren Lebensunterhalt zu sichern. Es sind hauptsächlich Frauen aus dem Norden Ugandas, die aufgrund der Rebellenkämpfe fliehen mussten. Viele von Ihnen haben Angehörige und Besitz verloren.

Die Frauen leben im Acholi Quarter, einer Einheit im Slum Kireka von Kampala. Die Acholi sind eine ethnische Gruppe im Norden Ugandas.

Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa Uganda

DER HERSTELLUNGSPROZESS

Um die Schmuckperlen und Dekorationsstücke herzustellen, wird Papier aus Zeitschriften im richtigen Format mit Schneidebrettern geschnitten, anschließend gerollt und zuletzt mit hautfreundlichen Lack überzogen. 

Alles von Hand! Die Perlen sind weder gefärbt noch bemalt und erhalten ihre Farbe einzig durch das Recyclingpapier.

Das Papier ist entweder ausgemustertes recyceltes Papier aus einer lokalen Druckerei in Kampala oder auch Restpapier von beispielsweise alten Kalendern oder Anzeigen.

 

Frau Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa   Frau Emmanuel Group Pearls of AfricaFrau Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa   Frau Emmanuel Group Pearls of Africa

 

Deutsch de